Academic Assessment Committee Minutes for February 13, 2008

In attendance: B. Hosch, C. Jones, J. Jones, K. Kostelis, S. Lesik, M. Nunn, G. Mejia, C. Menoche

Minutes from Dec. 3, 2007 and Jan. 31, 2008 were approved.

The Committee discussed proposed revisions to the Committee description. There was consensus on the following statement, which will be put to an electronic vote for all current Committee members:

Membership:

Committee membership will consist of:

- Twelve (12) voting faculty members to be elected by the faculty, with at least one (1) from each School. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms and may serve no more than two consecutive full terms.
- The Deans of each School may choose to appoint one (1) additional voting faculty member to the Committee. Appointed faculty members serve one-year terms, with no limitation on reappointment.

The Committee discussed additional language to ensure adequate disciplinary distribution but did not reach consensus. The Committee agreed to put the following to an electronic vote:

Revise the first bullet of the membership statement as follows:

- Twelve (12) voting faculty members to be elected by the faculty, with at least one (1) from each School. No more than two elected Committee members may come from a single Department. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms and may serve no more than two consecutive full terms."
- Twelve (12) voting faculty members to be elected by the faculty, with at least one (1) from each School, and with at least one (1) per Division in the School of Arts and Sciences (Arts & Humanities, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Mathematics & Science). Elected members serve staggered three-year terms and may serve no more than two consecutive full terms."
- [No revision]: Twelve (12) voting faculty members to be elected by the faculty, with at least one (1) from each School. Elected members serve staggered three-year terms and may serve no more than two consecutive full terms.

Dr. Hosch will place these items into an electronic ballot for all current Committee members.

Following this vote, Dr. Hosch will consult with Dr. Tim Craine to discuss the subsequent approval process. The preferred route is for the document to proceed to the Committee on Committees and come to the Senate floor as a motion from Committee.

Respectfully submitted, Braden J. Hosch